Fried Rice

One item always on the Christmas Breakfast menu is fried rice. I have no idea why, but that’s one thing my Aunt Susie always made for Christmas breakfast when I was growing up, so it says Christmas to me.

Mine’s probably not as good as Aunt Susie’s, but still contains bacon*.

Christmas Breakfast Fried Rice

  • 1/2 pound bacon, cooked and save the grease, then sliced crosswise into little strips
  • 1.5 C jasmine rice (this is the measurement dry), cooked according to package directions

(I complete the two above steps the day before. Aunt Susie says that fried rice works best with cold rice.)

  • 1 bunch green onions, sliced
  • 2 eggs
  • soy sauce, to taste (lots)

Heat your bacon grease in a skillet over medium heat (I like a round bottom stir fry skillet for this). Don’t shoot me, but I use about a quarter cup of it. Add your rice and green onions. Stir constantly, distributing the bacon grease throughout. Break up any lumps of rice. After about 5 minutes, add your bacon, and soy sauce (I put in at least 10 shakes, stir, taste, and repeat if necessary). Continue stirring for 2-3 minutes more. Next, add your eggs. Stir quickly to break them up before they cook. Cook and stir until your eggs are set (2-3 minutes more) and serve.

*one of the culinary fail-safes, along with cheese

Leave a Reply

