Bacon Cheese Mini-quiches

It’s Secret Recipe Club day! So fun. This month, my assignment was Hoosier Homemade: a guide, by dedicated homemaker Liz, to making your house a home. It’s a very extensive guide! I love her tips on menu planning and special events, but what I love most is her Cupcake Tuesday series. Look how adorable and creative:

Snow cone cupcakes

Sock Monkey Cupcakes

Classroom kids cupcakes (I can’t wait to make these for my daughter’s first grade class)

And there are about a million more awesome cupcake ideas.

As much as I wanted to try one of Liz’s fabulous cupcakes for my secret recipe post, I found myself with much less time than I’d like. Luckily Liz has many many quick fix ideas up her sleeve as well. I opted to try her Ham and Broccoli Quiche. Only I didn’t have ham or broccoli, and I didn’t feel like making a pie crust. Clearly, I am much less motivated than Liz.

Even with my lazy ways, I was able to whip up these mini crustless quiches based on Liz’s original recipe with just a few substitutions. They’re perfect for a quick dinner and for a late breakfast on the go the next day.

Bacon Cheese Crustless Mini-quiches

  • 5 slices bacon, fried, then chopped
  • 1 C shredded cheese (I used a mix of monterey jack and sharp cheddar)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry ground mustard (or regular mustard)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease 7 cups of a muffin tin, or use Silicups. Beat eggs, water, salt, pepper, and mustard powder together. Pour into cups. Sprinkle cheese, then bacon over the tops. Bake for about 30 min, until egg is set. Let stand 5-10 minutes before eating.

17 responses to “Bacon Cheese Mini-quiches

  1. I had my bacon fix a few weeks ago – these would’ve been perfect for that bacon bonanza. I’ve never seen a quiche in a muffin wrapper. Awesome idea.

  2. I LOVE all the cute cupcakes you featured! So cute…. and you picked a healthy meal instead of a sweet! Way to go!

    Thanks again for being a part of SRC and being a part of my first group, I enjoyed being your host! Now, I get to visit everyone’s blog, THIS IS THE FUN PART!

    If you haven’t already, come check out my Secret Recipe Club Post: Cucumber Salad http://momscrazycooking.blogspot.com/2011/08/cucumber-salad-secret-recipe-club.html

    or my second post for the SRC Raspberry and Nutella Pizza

    http://momscrazycooking.blogspot.com/2011/08/raspberry-nutella-pizza-secret-recipe.html

  3. Pingback: Crustless Mini Quiches | Smells Like Brownies

Leave a Reply

