Recipe swap: Cranberry sammies and/or Bourbon Balls

About a month back, I was searching for a caramel apple recipe. I never did make them, but I did find this recipe for caramel apple bites. Click that link and tell me those aren’t the most adorable little treats you ever saw.

While reading that post, I discovered that those teeny sweet caramel bites were part of a recipe swap hosted by Burwell General Store. The Recipe Swap is a fun exercise, where Christianna (mastermind behind the Burwell blog) sends us a recipe from a vintage cookbook, and we reinterpret it as our own. This month’s assignment: Toll House Cookies.

I had my usual decision paralysis over sweets, and decided to go in two directions. For both, I started with a basic cookie:

  • 1/2 C butter
  • 12 T granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 1/8 C cake flour
  • 1/2 t salt

Cream butter and sugar, add egg. Mix dry ingredients, then blend with wet. Drop by teaspoonful onto a baking sheet and bake at 375 for 15 – 20 minutes.

The bottom cookie in the picture below was baked for 15 to get something nice and chewy, the top cookie I baked for 20 minutes to get something more dry.

image

While those were cooling off, I made a quick cranberry jam:

  • 1 C cranberries
  • 1 T orange juice
  • 1/4 C sugar

Combine all and bring to a boil over medium high heat until cranberries start to pop. Turn down the heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes. It should get pretty thick.

I combined my chewy cookies with the cranberry jam for these rich cranberry sammies.

I used the crispy cookies instead of the traditional vanilla wafers to make bourbon balls.

  • 2 C cookie crumbs (I ground them in a food processor)
  • 2 C almond flour
  • 1 C powdered sugar
  • 1/2 C bourbon
  • 1.5 T corn syrup
  • 2 T cocoa powder

Combine all. Roll into balls, then into cocoa powder or powdered sugar. Refrigerate.

These are delicious, but pretty strong. Make sure you don’t give them to kids!



13 responses to “Recipe swap: Cranberry sammies and/or Bourbon Balls

  1. How fun to have two takes on the same recipe and have them be so different! I can only imagine how wonderful cranberry jam must taste – I made a lot of varieties of jams and preserves during the summer and now I would love to try your recipe.

  2. Pingback: Cranberry Jam | This is how we eat.

Leave a Reply

