Pumpkin pie filling – Secret Recipe Club

SRC day!

Secret Recipe Club

Jennifer Sikora seems like a pretty cool chick. She’s got a great hubs (high school sweethearts – adorable!), a couple teenagers,  and even a few cute canines. She also has a beautiful, brutally honest, totally happy ending. I loved reading about her life – and of course her recipes.

It was hard to pick, but finally, after noticing a sad little can of pumpkin in my pantry, I decided to make her pumpkin flan.

I adjusted it a bit, so mine’s more like little baked custards – otherwise known as pumpkin pie filling. Not much to look at, but so good. I’ve been eating them for breakfast. They turned out so nicely, I’m going to bake another batch with the rest of my can of pumpkin. If you aren’t watching your sugar due to an impending beach vacation, like I am, feel free to add some in with the nutmeg and vanilla. 1/2 C should do. I also used coconut milk in mine (the end result doesn’t taste coconutty – I just like the fatty richness it adds), but you could use whole milk or half and half if you wanted.

A little maple syrup on these goes a long way.

Pumpkin Pie Filling

  • 3/4 C coconut milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon grated nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon stevia*
  • 3/4 cup solid-pack pumpkin

Preheat your oven to 350

Arrange ramekins** in a 9X13 or similar dish with sides (I used a giant skillet), and put about 4 cups of water on the boil (you’re going to bake these guys in a water bath).

Warm up your coconut milk just a touch (I microwaved mine for about 45 seconds). Whisk together eggs, egg yolks, vanilla, and nutmeg. Whisk in pumpkin, then coconut milk. Divide filling among ramekins, then place baking sheet in oven. Pour hot water into baking pan until it reaches halfway up the sides of the ramekins.

Bake for about 25-30 minutes, until set.

*I’m ok with a little stevia. It adds just a touch of sweetness. I don’t like swapping it one for one with sugar, though, because it starts to taste cloying and weird.
**I used 3 one cup capacity ramekins plus a mug. That’s what fit in the skillet I used to bake them.

And no, this guy wouldn’t touch them. But doesn’t he look like a sweetheart? (The other night, out of the blue, he asked me to “never post something humiliating about him on the internet.” I don’t think this counts, right?)

See all the Secret Recipe fun here:


12 responses to “Pumpkin pie filling – Secret Recipe Club

  1. I really like the coconut milk in your pumpkin pie filling. Your little guy looks adorable! It is fun cooking with you in the SRC and have a great week!
    Miz Helen

  2. Yum! Why have I never thought of making something like this? I’m stopping by from Secret Recipe Club. I hope you’ll swing by Seasonalpotluck.com March is artichoke month! http://bit.ly/zRfNjo I’d love if you’d link up your artichoke recipes!

  3. Delicious. I love eating custard for breakfast, but I usually make mine maple. My grandmother used to make them for my mother because (my mother) doesn’t like eggs and grandmother believed eggs were very important for a proper breakfast.

  4. Hi there, Nice publish. You will find there’s dilemma with the web site in world wide web ie, might analyze this? Web browser still is the market boss in addition to a big element of individuals will certainly omit ones spectacular creating due to this difficulty.

Leave a Reply

