Pizza, pizza! Not quite

A new Little Caesar’s just opened up down the street from our house. While I feel that a $5 pizza likely has some of the most disgusting, lowest quality ingredients available, my husband and children don’t share this reservation. They love eating there, especially the Crazy Bread. My son, who rarely eats much of anything, killed an entire order of Crazy Bread by himself last week.

So when I decided to make pizza yesterday, I thought that I’d leave one of the crusts completely bare, with the exception of a little olive oil. Instant Crazy Bread, right? Not so much.

My 4 year old took a bite, and instantly warned her brother, “It’s not Crazy Bread! Don’t eat it!”

My son said that it “just didn’t feel good” in his mouth.

I try to be a patient parent, but seriously people – who refuses bread for dinner?! Showcasing my maturity level (ahem), I told them they were ingrates and I was tired of making them food they wouldn’t eat and that I didn’t care if they ate anything for dinner or not. Not my finest moment.

A few minutes later, my son excused himself from the table.

“Thanks for the food, Mom,” he told me, patting my back. “And nice try on the Crazy Bread.”

Here is my pizza crust recipe, which makes two fabulous pizza crusts, but apparently is not so good for recreating a home version of crazy bread.

Pizza Crust

  • 1 envelope dry yeast
  • 1 C warm water
  • 1 t sugar
  • 1 t salt
  • 2 T oil*
  • 2 1/2 C flour (I like to use 1 C whole wheat and the rest all purpose)

Preheat oven to 425. Dissolve yeast in warm water. Stir in remaining ingredients. Beat vigorously, 20 strokes. Let dough rest at least 5 minutes. Divide into two parts. Flatten each part into a pizza. Top as desired. Bake 20 minutes.

*I usually use olive oil, but inspired by Nigella Lawson, I tried Racconto Garlic and Basil infused olive oil. It was ok, but I like the plain stuff better.

A note on pizza cheese – I think that shredded fontina makes the best topping for pizza. Much more flavor than mozarella, but melts just as nicely.

4 responses to “Pizza, pizza! Not quite

  1. Pingback: Mac and Cheese for Cheaters « Laura Rees

  2. Pingback: What to eat Wednesday: Categories (Cooking method) « Laura Rees

  3. Pingback: Dinner – Week of 6/13 « Laura Rees

  4. Pingback: Olive Flatbread | This is how we eat.

Leave a Reply

