Taco Soup “Lite”

It’s the new year and I, along with 90% of the US, am eating healthier. I actually was so disgusted with myself that I couldn’t even wait until 1/1 and started the day after Christmas. Day 10, and doing well.

Here’s a Taco Soup recipe that I made up today based on what my fitness plan (I’m following Ten Years Thinner) allowed and what was in my pantry. Yum, and much better than boring diet food.

Taco Soup

  • 1 LB ground sirloin (I bought mine from Bluescreek Farm Meats at the North Market in C-bus)
  • 1/2 C chopped onion
  • 1 5 oz can tomato juice
  • 1 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 beef bouillon cube
  • 1 C water
  • 1 – 2 T chili powder
  • 1 T ground cumin
  • 1/2 t dried oregano
  • Salt, to taste

Brown sirloin with onion until no longer pink. Drain fat. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir. Bring to a boil, then back down to a simmer. Simmer for 15 minutes or more, stirring occasionally. Make sure that bouillon cube dissolves.

The seasonings here are approximations – use as much or as little as you like. Basically this is just a soupy chili, so you could add one of those taco seasoning or chili seasoning envelopes if that’s what you have instead of chili powder, etc. Canned pinto or black beans would make a good addition, too. Also, if you have canned tomatoes, they would do as a substitute for the juice/sauce mix I used. I just didn’t have any on hand.

I ate mine with chopped avocado in it, but for those of you not on a “plan,” feel free to load it up with sour cream, cheese, jalapenos, and taco chips.

One response to “Taco Soup “Lite”

  1. Pingback: What to eat Wednesday: Categories (Cooking method) « Laura Rees

Leave a Reply

