Reetika’s Palak Paneer

I love love LOVE Flavors of India at the North Market in Columbus. My favorite thing to get there is the two vegetable plate with Palak Paneer and Dal. I’m not sure how you’re really supposed to eat it, but I use both these items as a dip for naan.

I have zero experience cooking anything Indian, so when I wanted to try Palak Paneer at home, I turned to Twitter for a recipe. Luckily, my friend Reetika came through and sent me this recipe in 2 DMs – that’s only 280 characters! I altered it just a bit based on what I had on hand and it turned out perfectly. Amounts are not really exact, but no worries – we’re not baking here.

Palak Paneer

  • 10 oz Frozen Spinach, Thawed
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1/2 a thumb sized piece of ginger
  • Paneer, cubed – I couldn’t find this at my local grocery, so I used something called Yanni’s Grilling Cheese with Mint – worked great
  • 1/2 an onion, chopped
  • 2 green chilis, chopped
  • 2 heaping tablespoons plain yogurt
  • Madras curry, about 1/2 t
  • Garam Masala, about 1 t
  • Salt to taste

Heat spinach, ginger and garlic with a little water (like 1/4 cup) over medium heat ’til spinach is thawed and starts to cook. Puree in food processor. Brown paneer cubes in a little olive oil, then remove. Add onion, ginger & green chiles. Saute till brown. Add yogurt and spices with spinach puree. Cover cook low 10 mins. Add paneer and cook for 10 more.

I like to eat it as a dip for a whole wheat pita. It’s also good for breakfast.

One response to “Reetika’s Palak Paneer

  1. Pingback: Mindful Menus 6/21/10 « Laura Rees

Leave a Reply

