Healthy Spinach Dip

I seem to be in some sort of dip phase right now. For breakfast and lunch all I want is some kind of smooth creamy dip, like black bean, white bean, hummus… Yesterday, I was craving that baked spinach and artichoke dip, so I decided to try to make a healthy version so I could use it to actually get some quality protein. The result was delicious.

Spinach Dip

  • 1 10oz package frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed of excess water
  • 8 0z (half a 16oz container) low fat cottage cheese
  • 8 oz low fat ricotta
  • 1 heaping T mayo
  • 1/4 C shredded romano
  • 3 cloves garlic, pressed
  • Salt and crushed red pepper to taste
  • 1/4 C mozarella, shredded

Place all ingredients but mozarella into a food processor and pulse until smooth. Scrape into a shallow baking dish, top with just enough cheese to cover (you need less than you think), and bake at 375 until bubbly (about 15-20 minutes). Serve with toasted whole wheat pita wedges for dipping.

I didn’t put any artichokes in this because I didn’t have any, but they would be a fabulous addition. For breakfast this morning, I reheated the leftovers and ate them spread on two slices of toast. Yum.

5 responses to “Healthy Spinach Dip

  1. I’m substituting light cream cheese for the ricotta, since I have none…I’ll let you know how it turns out. Cream cheese…how can that be bad?

  2. Tastes great! I didn’t have any pita and when I tried to toast bread, I saw that it was moldy. Soooo…..I smashed some mini whole wheat bagels flat and then toasted them. Delish!

Leave a Reply

