Tomato Sauce

I make this a little differently each time depending on what I have on hand, but here is how I made it the other night for my lasagna. For me, this is like shredded cheese – now that I’m used to shredding my own cheese, I never buy pre shredded. To me it tastes better when I do it myself. This sauce is the same. I hate to use sauce from a jar now. I almost always make it like this.

This freezes well. Freeze it in freezer bags full of one cup portions.

Tomato Sauce

  • 1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 28 oz can whole tomatoes in juice (I would usually use 2 cans of crushed, but for some reason I had accidentally bought whole – they work)
  • 2 carrots, chopped finely
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped finely
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 sprigs of rosemary
  • 2 stems of oregano
  • Olive oil for sauteeing
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Saute your carrots, celery, and onion in olive oil over medium heat until tender. Use a big, oven proof pot. Add the garlic and saute one minute more.  Add the tomatoes (breaking up the whole ones by squeezing them in your hands – it’s very satisfying) and the herbs. I don’t pick off the leaves and chop them. I just throw the whole shebang in there. The leaves will fall off as the sauces simmers and then you can pick out the stems at the end. But don’t forget. Bake this at 325 for about an hour, til the sauce gets thick. You can also simmer it on the stove for the same length of time, but I can never get the simmer quite right and end up with tomato splatters all over my white stovetop.

One response to “Tomato Sauce

  1. Pingback: Swiss Chard Lasagna « Laura Rees

Leave a Reply

