What to do with CSA this week: 7/10/10

Last week, I was in St Lous visiting family, but my handsome hubs picked up CSA for me. I already ate all the chard, apricots, and blueberries from last week. I still have some beets though, so I’m including them in this list. And can I just say for the record that I absolutely LOVE my farm, Wayward Seed? I can. I do.

Here’s what we got this week:

  • Beets (from last week) – Boiling, slicing and eating with goat cheese and thyme. (Roasting in the oven is better, but I’m out of foil!)
  • Carrots (some cool looking white ones) – peeling, cutting into sticks for snacking.
  • Swiss Chard – I feel another fritatta in your future, chard. But I bet you could also use this instead of spinach in Palak Paneer.
  • Crook neck squash – Sauteed with garlic and onions, then topped with Romano.
  • Peaches (first of the season!) – Ripen in brown bags, eat for snacks. If I can’t eat them all while they’re still good, I’ll freeze them for smoothies.
  • Blueberries – Eat for snack. I’m trying to watch what I’m eating (beach in T minus 5 weeks people), but if you’re very good, I share Marion Cunningham’s FABULOUS recipe for crumble topping which is to die for with these blueberries. And with the aforementioned peaches.
2 responses to “What to do with CSA this week: 7/10/10

  1. I would love that crumble recipe Laura! We are considering being a part of a CSA next year–what size share did you get and do they deliver to your home or do you pick it up? What day do they deliver or you pick up? Thanks in advance!

  2. Hi Angela! I’ll post that crumble sometime this week. yum!

    As far as CSA, I have a 2 person fruit share and 1 person veggie share. My family doesn’t really help much with the eating of that. I try to at least sneak the veggies in other recipes, but I eat the fruit on my own. I pick up at the N Market, although I think if there are a lot of people in one neighborhood who purchase shares, they will deliver to that neighborhood. Let me know if you have other questions!

Leave a Reply

