Mac and Cheese for Cheaters

I make a lot of things from scratch. I do have a thing about mostly avoiding processed foods, but I mainly do it because I really enjoy cooking and because I think it tastes better. My children do not agree. They would much prefer canned pudding,* Oreos**, and Little Caesars to most of my creations. This also includes mac and cheese. Mostly, they like Kraft. In attempt to at least make it a little less laden with processed ingredients, I created this version, which serves one. My daughter actually likes it very much. It has the added bonus of being super fast to make.

Mac and Cheese for Cheaters

  • 1/3 C dry pasta (this is a large hand full by my hand’s measurement)
  • 1 slice American cheese (more or less to taste – my daughter requests hers with “two halves”)

Cook pasta according to package directions. We are big fans of Barilla Piccolini, which cook in only 7 minutes. Put one teaspoon or so of cooking water into your bowl. Drain pasta, and add that. Top with cheese slice and microwave for 15 seconds to melt the cheese. Mix it up with the cooking liquid til it’s creamy and coats all the noodles.

*I once made the world’s most amazingly decadent chocolate pudding from scratch. It had real cream and dark chocolate and egg yolks in it. The kids hated it.

**At the start of the school year, in order to be a “good mom,” I made homemade cookies for my son to take in his lunch each day. After a few weeks, he asked for Oreos. ???? Don’t you get it?! I’m trying to make memories here, buddy! Here are your d#m@ Oreos. <frown>

Leave a Reply

