Corn Meal Mush

I think days of bitter cold deserve warm breakfasts involving lots of butter. Below is one such start to the day.

Cornmeal Mush*

  • 1 C water
  • 3 heaped tablespoons cornmeal
  • 1 pat butter (be as scant or as generous as you like)
  • Salt, to taste

Boil the water. When at a full boil, whisk in the cornmeal, and cook until thick. It should only take a minute or so. Take off the heat, add your salt and butter, and stir until the butter melts. This serves one. If you are more of a sweet breakfast eater, feel free to swap out the salt with a sprinkling of sugar on top. Or a drizzle of maple syrup.

*I don’t know if this is how my Grandma made it, but it reminds me of her every time. More comfort for the chill.

2 responses to “Corn Meal Mush

  1. This is one of those times when my spotty cooking education comes back to bite my bum. Sure I’ve learned to make sour dough bread, but I still didn’t know you could do this–it’s like Cream of Wheat only easier and cheaper. I’m trying it.

Leave a Reply

