Spritz cookies

Heavens, I love Christmas cookies. These in particular were special favorites when I was a child. I remember my Aunt Donna had a cookie press that had a camel shaped disk. My cookie press, sadly, not only has no camel shaped disk, but for some reason I can never get the dough to stick to the cookie sheet. To be fair to the cookie press, this may be the fault of this recipe. I’ve never been able to put my finger on it. I usually resort to the disk that has one line in it. It just spits out one long line of dough that I then cut it into squares or triangles. Boring to look at, but still taste good.

Spritz Cookies

  • 2 1/4 C all purpose flour
  • 3/4 C sugar
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 t baking powder

Sift the above together, then cut in 1 C butter.

Add 1 t vanilla + enough water to equal 1/4 cup.

Color as desired. Press using a cookie press. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

2 responses to “Spritz cookies

  1. I love making buttery spritz cookies! It’s an annual thing for me. I’ll have to compare recipes. When my cookie press broke last year, I rolled the dough and then used tiny cookie cutters — worked great and still tasted great!

Leave a Reply

