Chicken thighs braised with garlic

This is delectable and based on a recipe from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything.* Probably the best chicken I’ve made, ever. And the total cost to make it was about $3.75. Not as thrifty as my friend over at the Tasty Cheapskate, but for me** that is a steal. It has to cook for an hour, but requires no attention during that time, so makes a quick and easy recipe. If you turn up your nose at dark meat, this would work fine with bone in, skin on breasts as well.

Chicken Thighs braised with garlic

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 2 chicken thighs and 2 drumsticks, bone in skin on (mine were the attached kind, from North Market Poultry and Game)
  • 1 head of garlic, separated into individual cloves, but unpeeled
  • 2 T chopped parsley
  • 1 t allspice
  • 1/2 C water
  • salt and red pepper flakes

Brown the chicken in the olive oil in a good sized pot with a lid over medium heat. This will take 15ish minutes. Then, add in everything else. Bring to a gentle simmer, cover, and let it simmer for an hour without touching it. Remove to a plate and serve. Mark Bittman suggests squeezing the garlic cloves out onto some nice bread, which would be lovely, but I just squeezed them right into my open mouth. yum.

*The newest addition to the ‘things I want for my next gift occasion’ list. Thanks to my friend Joel, for introducing me to it. Even though Mark Bittman has been a popular food writer (including a long run for the NY Times) probably since I was born, I have somehow managed to never hear of him. ??
**I hate to buy new clothes because they are “too expensive” yet routinely purchase things like $2.50 cartons of yogurt, $6 loaves of bread, and $14 bottles of olive oil. ????

Leave a Reply

