Banana Muffins

I’m not really one for “healthy” versions of traditional recipes, because most of the time they don’t taste as good and I’m left feeling completely unsatisfied. However, I am in favor of swapping out ingredients that I don’t miss. I wouldn’t say it makes things “healthy.” Just healthier.

In this case, I took my grandma’s banana bread recipe and swapped out the white sugar and white flour. In their place, I’ve used sucanat, oat flour, and whole wheat pastry flour. This is a version that my kids will actually eat. When I use all whole wheat, no one in the house will touch them but me. Somehow, oat flour is not as offensive.

Banana Muffins

  • 4 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 C shortening
  • 1 1/4 C sucanat
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 1 1/4 C oat flour
  • 3/4 C whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 3/4 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 C buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350. Beat shortening, sucanat, eggs, and vanilla in mixer. Mix together flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl. Add buttermilk to wet ingredients. Then add flour mixture and banana mixture a little at a time, alternating between the two. Don’t overmix. Put  the batter into a muffin tin, lined with muffin papers (is that what they’re called?). I put about a 1/4 C in each. Bake for 17 minutes, or until muffins are just set in the middle.

Leave a Reply

