Sunday sundaes

I recently checked out Mollie Katzen’s Get Cooking from the library. It’s full of nice, simple recipes that I thought might be kid friendly. So I asked my five year old to look through it with me, to see if we could find something she might like to try for dinner this week. I know you’re laughing at my naivete. Of course the only recipes she selected that she would like to try were brownies, chocolate chocolate-chip mint cookies, and hot fudge sundaes.
I figured if you can’t beat ’em, might as well join them. This hot fudge sauce was a big hit with the whole family plus the kid across the street.

Hot Fudge Sauce

    • 2/3 C heavy cream
    • 1/2 c corn syrup
    • 1 C chocolate chips
    • 2 t vanilla
    • 2 T butter

Put the cream, corn syrup, and chocolate chips in a saucepan. Melt them together, then bring to a simmer. Simmer 3 minutes, stirring constantly. Take off the heat, then stir in the vanilla and butter. Spoon a little in the bottom of your serving dish, then add vanilla ice cream, then more sauce on top.

image

One response to “Sunday sundaes

  1. Pingback: Dinner – Week of 6/13 « Laura Rees

Leave a Reply

