Market Day

This time of the year, when everything at the market is so glorious and ripe, I really miss my CSA. This morning I bought a few things to get through the pain.

This is (clockwise from top left) tomatillos, heirloom tomatoes, ground cherries, and cherry tomatoes. I can’t remember the name of those peppers in the middle, but the sign said they were “smoky like poblanos” and I am a real sucker for a charred poblano. Not pictured are some peaches, a flatiron steak, and some beef short ribs.

Here are my plans for this goodness:

  • Tomatillos – roasted tomatillo salsa
  • Heirloom tomatoes – regular salsa
  • Ground cherries – plain for snacking
  • Cherry tomatoes – plain for snacking
  • Peppers – added to my salsas, above
  • Peaches – I have dreams of some sort of peach cobbler or crumble

I have no idea what to do with this meat, but I’m sure I’ll find something. I’ll give you an update when I do.

4 responses to “Market Day

  1. Pingback: Charred tomatillo salsa | This is how we eat.

  2. Pingback: Short ribs in the crock pot | This is how we eat.

Leave a Reply

