Short ribs in the crock pot

Remember when I bought those short ribs and had no idea what to do with them? Well, they turned out really yummy. I’d definitely make this recipe again (it was slightly adapted from this one). Not having any idea what to expect from short ribs though, I was a little disappointed in the meat to fat ratio in the end product. For $10, it didn’t feel like there was that much usable meat on these guys-just a bone and lots of fat. I served the meat over cornmeal mush (mmmmmm), and the whole thing was fatty and fall apart and delectable.

Short ribs in the crock pot

  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 lbs beef short ribs
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 2/3 cup red wine vinegar
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 garlic cloves, pressed
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder

Mix flour, salt and pepper. Coat ribs in this mixture. Melt butter and brown meat on all sides over medium high heat. Remove to crock pot.
Add remaining ingredients to the skillet. Bring to a boil, deglazing the pan as you go. Pour over ribs. Cover and cook on low for 9 hours.

2 responses to “Short ribs in the crock pot

  1. I drop a comment each time I like a post on a site or I have
    something to add to the conversation. It’s triggered by the fire communicated in the post I browsed. And on this article Short ribs in the crock pot | This is how we eat.. I was actually moved enough to write a comment 😉 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s okay.
    Is it just me or do a few of these remarks look as if they are
    coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing at other sites, I would like to keep up with anything new you have to post.
    Would you list every one of all your shared pages like your twitter feed, Facebook
    page or linkedin profile?

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll
    settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

