Homemade ricotta

In an apparent 180 degree turn from last weekend, when I chose to cook nothing, today I decided to make my own cheese. I’ve seen it in a few cookbooks and blogs lately, and it’s been something I’ve wanted to try for a while now.

We picked up some Snowville whole milk and whipping cream at the market today and we were off. I used Ina’s recipe, swapping out regular white vinegar for the white wine vinegar called for. It really was super easy and the 6yo helped as well.

Here she is, my first cheese:
image

I was surprised at the amount of whey left over after draining the curds. I’m going to do some exploring to see how we can use that up.
image

3 responses to “Homemade ricotta

  1. Pingback: bits and bites at an olive oil tasting | This is how we eat.

Leave a Reply

