Recipe classic: corned beef, Grandma Lucy style

This is one of my very favorite things that my grandma makes. It’s really pretty simple. I’m not sure why I don’t make it more often. I guess I just never think to get a corned beef at the grocery.

Warning – if you get a corned beef, it will have a lot of fat on it that you have to trim off, and then it will shrink after cooking. The first time I made one myself, I was cooking for hubs, my mom, and me. By the time I trimmed it and cooked it, it shrank a lot. Remember those old time cartoons where the family would sit down to dinner and just have one bean to slice up amongst them? That was pretty much what happened with that first corned beef. My mom and I pretended to not be hungry so hubs could have the lion’s share. So always get one that’s bigger than you think you will need!

You start off by boiling it up with the spice packet it comes with (looks weird at this stage, I know).

image

Then you bake it with a mustard glaze.

image

Then slice it up and serve it with some boiled cabbage, carrots, and potatoes.

image

Second warning – it tastes good at home, but never as good as when your mom or grandma makes it.

Corned beef, Grandma Lucy style

  • 5-6 LB corned beef brisket with spice packet (if it doesn’t come with a spice packet, use 1 bay leaf and 6 whole peppercorns)
  • 1/2 C or so Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 5 T paprika

Rinse meat and trim fat. Put in large kettle and cover with water. Add spice packet. Bring to a boil, then reduce to simmer. Cover and simmer until fork tender – about 3 to 4 hours. Remove from stock, and place in roasting pan. Meanwhile, mix brown sugar and paprika. Cover the top with dijon mustard, then sprinkle brown sugar mixture on top. Bake for 20 minutes at 400. Slice across the grain, and serve with boiled carrots, potatoes, and cabbage.

 

 

Leave a Reply

