Homemade frozen dinners

I know you know that- as a general rule – my kids don’t eat my cooking. So in an effort to at least give them something that wasn’t full of chemicals, I tried making one of their frozen favorites: chicken strips. I just sliced some chicken breasts into strips, then breaded and fried them (in Crisco – eek). Then I froze them individually. Once frozen, I put them all in one bag for reheating in the oven or microwave at a later date. Good news and bad news.

Good news: My son loved them. He asked what I was doing, and when I told him, he said “it looks like you’re doing it right by coating it in that white stuff.” When his sister asked the same, he answered, “she’s practicing her frying skills.” True enough. They reheated beautifully, in the oven especially.

image

Bad news: My daughter hated them. She said they “just don’t taste right.” Also, my house smelled like one of those gross truck stops (where they have showers and restaurants that feature fried chicken and chicken fried steak) for at least a week. Perhaps frozen pizza might have less of a lingering odor?

One response to “Homemade frozen dinners

  1. Pingback: Frozen Dinners – Biscuits | This is how we eat.

Leave a Reply

