Braised brussels sprouts

Yesterday, I was in NYC. We were there for work, but did have a chance at a little fun.

I drank a Stella at the top of the Standard, and watched the sun set.

I rode in an elevator with a man I later found out was David Arquette. (I’m not great at noticing things. Plus, I thought he would be taller!)

I also talked food with a lovely lady who’s spent her career as a recipe developer and food editor. When she shared her method for making these velvety textured Brussels sprouts, I knew I had to try it. It was so good, I ate all of it. Yeah. One entire pint of Brussels sprouts in one sitting. Is that weird?

Braised Brussels Sprouts

  • 1 pint fresh brussels sprouts
  • 1 T bacon grease
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1 C chicken stock

Trim the ends off your Brussels sprouts and slice them into thin slices. Put them into a skillet with the bacon grease over high heat. Cook, stirring frequently, until wilted, bright green, and just starting to brown.  Add garlic and cook for just a minute longer. Add half a cup of the stock, bringing to a boil. Let most of the liquid boil off, stirring occasionally. Repeat with the other half cup stock. When almost all the liquid has boiled off, remove from heat, salt to taste, and serve.

 

4 responses to “Braised brussels sprouts

  1. Pingback: Picture post – NYC (and Food Network studios) | This is how we eat.

Leave a Reply

