Cranberry Jam

I originally made this cranberry jam for sandwich cookies. And it was good on cookies.

Then I found out it was good in yogurt. It was good on a grilled cheese.  It was good in applesauce. And before I could eat it with ham or squash or even just plain, all the leftovers were gone.

Time to make more. I tripled the recipe and canned it in these precious little jars.

I know how to can now! I think that makes me a real, live, old-timey cook. (Actually, it’s not that hard. My mom told me how over the phone.)

Cranberry Jam

  • 3 C cranberries
  • 3 T orange juice
  • 3/4 C sugar

Combine all and bring to a boil over medium high heat until cranberries start to pop. Turn down the heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes. It should get pretty thick.

At this point, you can just put it in a tupperware container and store it in the fridge. Or you can can it. (can can?)

To can: Put your clean jars and lids in simmering water. Fish a jar out with some tongs, then dry it. Fill with warm jam. Fish a lid out and dry it, then screw it on tight. Set it somewhere where it can cool undisturbed. Repeat, until all the jam is in jars. After a few minutes, you will hear the sounds of popping as your jars seal. It’s kind of exciting.

Label and give away as holiday treats, or just hoard them for yourself.

Leave a Reply

