Carne Guisada

This post is about trying out my new Homesick Texan cookbook (I know I’m bordering on obsession as much as I talk about it) and my new camera. The subject of my experiment is Carne Guisada, a slow cooked concoction of beef and peppers.

First, I spent what felt like 6 hours chopping up an onion, 6 cloves of garlic, 4 jalapenos, 2 serranos, and a bell pepper. My hand is burning from those peppers. They’re not joking when they tell you to wear rubber gloves.

I browned chuck roast and then dumped in all that fun chopped stuff.

I added some spices – cumin, chili powder, cilantro, and oregano – that I just bought today at Penzey’s.

I poured in some beer and some water and let it simmer on the stovetop for 4 hours. And yum. You should try it.

Leave a Reply

