Fried Wild Rice – Recipe Swap

Up until yesterday, I had planned to do a wild rice salad for this recipe swap.

Some pecans, some dried cherries, some diced red onions, and an orange vinaigrette. Yum right?

But Asian food has been calling my name lately.

It started with this. I read it, cover to cover.

Inspired by Dave Chang and his adorable rags to riches story, I even started eating Ramen again.

(I had stopped after I ate 2 million packages of it in college.)

I’ve also become quite the Ching-He Huang fan, watching all the Ching videos on CookingChannelTV.com, eating Congee for breakfast all last week per her recommendtion, and making three recipes from her book for dinner last night.

So today, I found myself drawn not to that salad I’d originally planned, but more towards something savory and (vaguely) Asian: Fried rice.

For successful fried rice, always start with COLD rice.

Fried Wild Rice with sausage

  • 1 t bacon grease
  • 2 sausages (breakfast link size), casing removed
  • 1/2 C white rice
  • 1/2 C steamed wild rice*
  • 1/4 C diced red bell pepper
  • 1/3 C sliced green onions
  • 1 egg, very lightly beaten
  • Soy sauce, to taste

Brown the sausage in the bacon grease until almost done, breaking it up as you go. Add both rices, and the veggies. Cook for 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Add the egg, stirring slowly. Allow it to cook, but stir often enough that it breaks into small pieces. Add 5-10 dashes of soy sauce, and serve hot.

*To cook the wild rice, add 1 C rice to 3 C water in a saucepan. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Cover and cook for 45 minutes to 1 hour, until all water is absorbed and rice is split open.

This is comfort food for a lazy Sunday.

About the Recipe Swap: The recipe swap is organized by Christianna at the Burwell General Store. Each month, a collection of bloggers reinterprets a classic recipe selected by Christianna.

13 responses to “Fried Wild Rice – Recipe Swap

  1. Yum! This looks great. I also experimented with Asian flavors for this swap, although I ended up going in a completely different direction. Wild rice takes so well to that sweet/spicy thing, doesn’t it? I will definitely be try a vegetarian version of this. Looks great!

  2. Either one of those dishes would have worked for me:) I love fried rice, but I have never tried making it with the addition of wild rice – I bet it would bring a nice bite to it:) I always have leftover rice (and pasta) and I don’t fret, as I love reusing the leftovers:)
    And now I have to go and check out Ching-He Huang:)

  3. Looks like you’ve been into some good reads! Playing out your Asian cravings in the kitchen instead of just ordering takeout is definitely the way to go. This dish looks way better than any fried rice I’ve seen in a restaurant and it’s much better for you too!

  4. This sounds delicious! I almost did a fried rice as well, but them I went in a completely different direction. I love seeing how each of us spun this recipe!

  5. I love how a recipe can evolve up to the day you are making it! I feel the same way about ramen noodles, having eaten so many packets in college…but now it has been long enough that it is hip to make them again 🙂 I like your interpretation of the recipe with the fried rice spin!

Leave a Reply

