Black Bean Avocado Tostones – Recipe Swap

Tostones.

I have no idea how it’s actually pronounced, but I’ve been having a delightful time telling everyone about how I made these delicious toe – STONE – ays. Yell it out. It feels good in the mouth.

toe – STONE – ays!

Tostones (or toe – STONE- ays, as I like to call them) are fried plantains, and they’re the french fries of the Caribbean. Or so they tell us on wikipedia. Having never been to the Caribbean, I can’t verify this. I can tell you that as a lover of both plantains and fried items, I’ve had my eye on them for a while.

So when I took a look at this month’s recipe swap inspiration, a recipe for pizza from Mary’s Italian Dinners, I knew immediately I would make little tostone pizzas.*

Even though plantains look like bananas, they’re a lot starchier and not sweet. You can’t peel them the same way either, especially when they’re still green.You have to slice off the peel with your trusty blade.

After frying these guys twice, I topped them with beans and avocados, though I think they’d be lovely with a variety of other toppings (goat cheese is at the top of my list.)

Black Bean and Avocado Tostones

  • 1/2 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 t cumin
  • 1/2 t chili powder
  • 1 avocado, peeled and sliced
  • 1 plantain, peeled and sliced
  • coconut oil, for frying
  • salt, to taste

Fry the plantains in about 1/4 inch of oil, until softened, but not brown. Time will vary based on how thick you slice your plantains, but mine took about 2 minutes a side. Remove from oil and drain on paper towels. Place the plantains on a cutting board and smash them with the bottom of a glass. Not too hard, just enough so that they flatten a bit and some of the insides squeeze out the sides. Then, return them to the oil and fry until browned and crispy. Return to the paper towels to drain, then sprinkle on some salt.

Place black beans, cumin and chili powder in a skillet. Heat over medium low, stirring and mashing with the back of a spoon.

Top each plantain slice with a spoonful of the beans, then a slice of avocado. Sprinkle over a bit more salt if you think they need more. (I did this. I’m kind of a salt fiend.) Serve warm.

About the Recipe Swap: The recipe swap is organized by Christianna at the Burwell General Store. Each month, a collection of bloggers reinterprets a classic recipe selected by Christianna. Click below to see what other recipe swappers did with this one.

*Ha ha! Just kidding. I had no idea what to make, even though I’d had a plantain staring at me from the bottom of my fruit bowl for at least two weeks.
12 responses to “Black Bean Avocado Tostones – Recipe Swap

  1. OMG, I love tostones! These look amazing– I love the addition of avocado. That fatty creaminess sounds so good against the starchy plantains! Beautiful recipe, great interpretation of the original!

  2. Yum! What a great take on the pizza concept. I’ve been afraid of the double frying of the plantains but you make it sound so doable, that I need to try this out. Super Recipe Swap!

  3. These sound so great and have my favorite flavor profiles too! I’ve admittedly only had plantains in ethnic cuisine like Cuban and am not sure I’ve ever prepared them myself. Cumin is the one spice that is constantly repalced in my pantry coupled with the black beans and avocado these must have been a complete hit at your dinner table! Very creative twist to our swap my friend; bravo!

  4. This is awesome. I am having a great time checking out everyone’s different takes on the pizza this month. I actually bought plantains last month, planning to fry them when I was making another Cuban style dish. I never got around to it though. You’ve inspired me to try again! Have a blessed week.

  5. Plantains! I love them! I have been to the Caribbean and I can verify that plantains, mostly in fried form like this, are allll over the place. I prefer mine baked or blackened in a skillet but your tostones look awesome!

Leave a Reply

