Strawberry yogurt parfait in a jar – Secret Recipe Club

I’m loving this “in a jar” trend. I’m totally on board.

These salads in a jar have been one of my most popular posts.

I store everything in them now, from leftovers to spices.

L to R: mustard powder, coffee, oregano, cumin (I won’t show you my leftovers)

Inspired by the Fruit Brochettes and Strawberry cream cheese dip over at Heavenly Treats and Treasures (my assigned Secret Recipe Club blog for the month), I did a giant strawberry yogurt parfait in a jar.

It made a perfect light dinner (after the glut of Easter candy I *borrowed* from what E. Bunny had left), and I made another one for breakfast.

Strawberry Yogurt Parfait

  • 16 oz strawberries, sliced or crushed (I did one layer of each)
  • Single serving container plain Greek yogurt (I like Fage)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 T honey

Mix yogurt with vanilla and honey. Layer in jar with strawberries. Easy peasy!

Of course you could use any combo of fruit you wanted. Mango would be divine. Kiwi would be nice, too. And, you could flavor the yogurt with some lime or lemon zest, or maple syrup instead of the honey. Or, you could add some granola to the mix (though it may get a little soggy if you leave it overnight).

Secret Recipe Club

Check out what everyone else did with their secret recipe assignments below:



27 responses to “Strawberry yogurt parfait in a jar – Secret Recipe Club

  1. This is perfect with strawberry season coming. I’m loving the jar trend too. I ought to keep my leftovers in jars. They hang out in leftover yogurt containers, which you may note are not see through.

  2. I could use a light dinner right about now after my vacation eating binge. Thanks for the great idea! I’m stopping by from SRC but be sure to stop by Seasonal Potluck this month. We have peas AND rhubarb link parties open! We’d love if you’d share any recipes you may have http://bit.ly/H9XJGB

  3. I never really liked yougurt until I moved to Greece with my Greek-American husband. Once I found Fage yougurt I fell in love with it. It is fantastic that you get to enjoy it. Strawberries are in season here now. Your way of serving them is excellent. have a great day

  4. Oh wow. What a great breakfast.

    The one thing about the “in a jar” trend that doesn’t get promoted is how easy it is to transport (for parties) and store (if what you make can stick around for a short while). We never through out the boxes when we buy mason jars.

Leave a Reply

