Mint Chocolate Cookie Dough Pops

Our inspiration recipe this time sounds pretty good.

The filling does have raw egg in it, which seems a little strange. Though I think there are versions of key lime pie and chocolate mousse with raw egg, so maybe it’s not that weird.

Sidebar:

We’re moving this coming Wednesday. This past Tuesday, we closed on our houses – both the one we are buying and the one we are selling. Although we’d given them four weeks advance notice of the closing date (and we were pre-approved back in March), the bank was still asking us to sign more and more paperwork up to and including the day of the close. We were supposed to sign everything at 4pm. It didn’t come through until 6:30pm. As you can imagine the whole thing was quite stressful.

My son was having a picnic the next day at school, for which I had promised to make him his favorite chocolate mint cookies. By the time we got home at 8ish, I was too tired to start cookie baking. Instead, I headed to the grocery store to buy pre-made cookies. I HATE doing that. I really want to make everything for him from scratch.

The stress of the past weeks and months, combined with a mother’s guilt resulted in me having a total melt down in the grocery store. Tears in the bakery section. I picked up a package of chocolate chip cookies, and started to cry. I’m sure everyone there thought something was really wrong with me.

“Nothing to see here!” I wanted to tell them. “Just sad about buying these chocolate chip cookies! I’ll get over it!”

I know you’re wondering about my point in giving you a behind the scenes look into my emotionally unstable mind. Well, here it is: The inspiration recipe gave me a chance to relieve my conscience somewhat and finally make those Mint Chocolate Cookies. Only I decided to change it up just a bit, and leave them unbaked.

Then I decided to make them into pops and dip them into white chocolate and decorate them with regular chocolate. (This backlash of guilt got a little bit out of hand it seems.)

These are really rich, but really delicious if you’re a mint fan. And they’d be just as good all rolled into little balls, without the stick and dip. But they won’t be as effective at assuaging your guilt, I’d wager.

Mint Chocolate Cookie Dough Pops

  • 1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 c light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1 t pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 c good unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 c flour
  • 1/2 t kosher salt
  • 1 4.67 oz package Andes mints
  • 1 6 oz package Bakers white chocolate
  • Chocolate chips and coconut oil for decoration

Cream butter and sugars. Add vanilla and cocoa, and beat until well blended. Add flour and salt, and mix until just blended. Unwrap all the Andes mints and chop them roughly. Add them to the dough and mix until just combined. Chill for an hour in the fridge. Roll heaped tablespoons of the dough into balls. Place on lollypop or cakepop sticks if desired. Freeze for 15 minutes. While the pops are freezing, unwrap the white chocolate and melt in the microwave in a microwave safe bowl.* Dip each cookie dough pop into the melted chocolate to coat. Place on parchment to set up. Drizzle with melted chocolate** to decorate if you like.

*I do 30 seconds, then stir, then 30 seconds, then stir. Repeat until the chocolate is just melted. Don’t over microwave it or it will burn.

**I used 1/4 C chocolate chips and 1 T coconut oil to thin it out. I put it in a ziploc bag and snipped off the end for drizzling.

About the Recipe Swap: The recipe swap is organized by Christianna at the Burwell General Store. Each month, a collection of bloggers reinterprets a classic recipe selected by Christianna. Click below to see what other recipe swappers did with this one.

 

11 responses to “Mint Chocolate Cookie Dough Pops

  1. Aww, so sorry about your breakdown- I am sure you do the best you can! These cookie dough pops sure made up for everything! Great take on the swap!

  2. You are not alone in feeling guilty over purchasing a food item over making it; we all need to give ourselves a break once in a while! But you ended up with an amazing little cookie pop- nicely done. Feel good about this, it’s a great swap!

  3. I love your backstory on this! I could totally imagine myself having a similar breakdown in the grocery store. Good luck with the move. That stuff can be SO stressful. And yet, in the midst of it — you came up with a fantastic recipe. So cute. And so inventive.

  4. Good luck with the move! Way to go pulling off such a cute treat for your kids. Rest assured that all guilt should be removed now! I love your take on this recipe.

  5. Yes,… breathe. Sister, I have been there on the edge, with you, from stress, for a few months now. Like, waking up with jaw clenched stress. My mother gave me the best advice: one day at a time. Just put one foot in front of the other, and don’t worry about the big picture… and breathe. Thanks again for an amazing post in the swap! Godspeed. 😉

  6. Oh my. This month’s swap has been terribly calming. Every version I’ve read has a slice of similarity to mine. Your emotional instability echoes how I felt in the midst of figuring my post out. And you know what, these pops look AWESOME. So go you!

  7. These pops are incredible. I wouldn’t have thought of that one. You did a lovely job making the recipe over this month. Sorry it took me so long to visit. Minor blog crisis this week.

Leave a Reply

